List of Sites
The ruin of a semi-fortified, late 16th c. residence built on a terrace over looking Kilmartin valley. It was probably built by Neil Campbell, Rector of Kilmartin 1574-1627 and later Bishop of Argyll.
The building consists of a rectangular block with circular towers at the SW and NE angles . It is of random rubble construction with irregular pinnings, and was originally harled. The gable ends were crowstepped, but the gable end with the kitchen chimney has now collapsed. There are relieving arches above rubble lintels in the entrance doorway and large windows and double lintels above the small windows. Architectural features to look out for include the pistol loops and original iron grille window bars in the tower and, 2m above the entrance, a weathered, framed armorial panel.
The SW tower contained the main stair with a service stair contained in a semi-circular projection from the hall. The other tower contained a series of small rooms.
The entrance leads into a vaulted passage which links the main stair to the kitchen and cellars which were all vaulted. The first floor contained a hall and private chamber and the second floor may have had a similar arrangement. The hall fireplace is still visible.
The castle is privately owned and is not open to the public.
Mid-Argyll Sites and Artefacts
Mayo - Vestvågøy - Mid-Argyll
This project has been supported by the EU as part of the Culture 2000 programme.