Ballymeanoch - Standing Stones
List of Sites
The stump of a fallen stone was excavated and removed in 1977.
This setting now comprises six stones arranged in two roughly parallel lines aligned NW-SE. Excavation revealed cremation deposits under the stump of a fallen seventh stone which stood 18m WNW of the main setting and was decorated with cup-and-ring marks and one complete perforation. Nearby are several other prehistoric monuments.
This view from the SW shows the two parallel rows of standing stones, these are the tallest erect stones in the area with some more than 4m high. The woodland behind contains a number of cists, known about before the area was planted with conifers. Since the felling of the conifers in 1995 only 1 has been rediscovered.
All the Ballymeanoch monuments are managed by Historic Scotland and accessible via pathways leading from the dedicated car park at Duncraigaig.
- Campbell & Sandeman, 24, no.158
- PSAS, 109 (1977-8), 104-11
- Morris, 55-6, ARG 16
- PSAS, 16 (1881-2), 114-17
Mid-Argyll Sites and Artefacts
Mayo - Vestvågøy - Mid-Argyll
This project has been supported by the EU as part of the Culture 2000 programme.